Maritime begin title defence with win and eight 180s

MARITIME Social Club began the defence of their Monday Premier League title in style when they won 9-2 away at Prince Maurice A and hit eight of the 10 maximums recorded.

Paul Palmer led the charge with three 180s and team mates Billy Evans and Dan Scott were on target with a brace each.

Kieran Burns hit a 15-darter in a 3-2 singles success, but the best contest of the match saw Glenn Halford (100x16) score the only singles victory for Prince Maurice with a 3-2 win against Palmer, after both players had taken out 14-darters.

Brewery Tap also achieved the same winning margin away at Steam Packet A while Plympton Cons defeated Hyde Park 9-2 with Terry Smith hitting two 180s.

LONE WINNER: Glenn Halford was a lone winner for Prince Maurice A but top scored with 16 throws of a ton or more and took legs in 18 and 14 before edging Paul Palmer 3-2.

Bluebird B came from 4-2 down to draw level at 5-5, only for Lee Wyatt to clinch the decisive 11th point for the Barbican side when he won 3-1, aided by a leg in 15.

Keelan Kay took out a 14-darter before going on to a 3-0 singles success which was the highlight of Brookside A’s 9-2 win over Indian Inn B.

Steam Packet B secured all but one of the 11 points that were on offer away at Octagon A and the winners had Neil White (100x14) and Pete Roulston winning their 601 doubles in two straight legs, which included a 19-darter.

Porters A returned from Bluebird A with a 9-2 win while Indian Inn A opened their account with a 10-1 defeat of Brookside B.

The one point that eluded them was won by Phil Hoskins (100x13) who caught the eye when winning 3-1, aided by a leg in 14.

John Cook was on target with a brace of 180s but finished up on the wrong end of a 6-5 scoreline when Octagon B were defeated by the narrowest of margins at Firkin Scholar.

Prince Maurice B beat City Social 7-4 and also claimed the highest checkout for the opening week when Shane Victor finished at the first time of asking from 148.

Other notable outshots were achieved by: Paddy Archibald (134), Ashley Harris (120), John Turpin (116), Adam Searle (116), Tony Lamerton (114), Mike Rennie (113), Simon Washington (113), Simon White (112), Shaun Dring (109), Pete Cornish (101).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts