Stevenson Crashes Out Of Champs Tournament

The biggest shock of the Preliminary Round came at the Indian where five time champion, Simon Stevenson - who was bidding for a record breaking sixth title - was unceremoniously dumped out at the first hurdle in three unanswered legs by Victory's Scott Cook.

There were 3-0 wins for Bluebird's Lee Roberts and Octagon's Lee Agar over Bluebird's Glenn Austin and John Donald respectively whilst Fawn's Alan Brady edged Victory's Paddy Archibald 3-2, all played at the Indian Inn.

The final contest of the night at the Stoke Village venue saw in form Mark Gilbery start his road to the title with a stunning 3-0 win over Reg Matthews who plays from the Kings Arms.

The Victory star produced a 180 and a 114 checkout in the tie to put his name in the hat for the last 64 draw.

Elsewhere at The Fawn, there was three maximums for Gilbery's Victory teammate Mark Shears as he got his title bid up and running in 3-1 victory over Colebrook's Lee Doncaster, in a contest which Shears ploughed in three maximums in the four leg tie.

Another Victory player, Quinton Taylor, checked out a fine 13 dart leg in his 3-0 whitewash of Union Inn's David Reed, whilst Taylor's son, Liam, was narrowly defeated by Wayne Oddie of the Bluebird by three legs to two.

Oddie's fellow Bluebird colleague, Alan Masters, also added his name to the hat for the next round with a 3-0 win over Hyde Park's Steve Duke with the former scoring a maximum.

On a fine showing for the Victory Inn, there was also 3-0 wins for Paul Gavican and Paul Goundry to complete the line up.

At the Bluebird, Cornwall youth player Jaden Whitting, representing The Fawn in the competition, defeated 1989 champion, Col Maddocks by 3-0.

There was also a 3-1 win for 2018 champion, Neil White, taking out the much fancied 2016 runner up Glenn Halford of the Bluebird in the process.

The Victory's Andrew Cook also beat The Octagon's Paul Barclay by the same score line and there was a 3-0 win for Lee Hellings, who also hails from The Octagon, against King Billy's Harry McFerran.

All other entered players at this stage received byes and join the winners from the Preliminary Round in the Last 64 stage of the competition on Sunday, 24th October with draws being made at 7pm on the night.

The format is the best of 5, 501 with bust rule applying and players will need to win two games in a unique revamp of the competition to move into the Last 16 on Finals Night in December.

Indian Inn: Steve Brocklesby (Fawn); Stephen Hopley (Indian Inn); Paul Goundry (Victory Inn); Andrew Hawes (Hyde Park); Scott Cook (Victory Inn); Danny Bull (Raffles); Anthony Pearn (King Billy); Kevin Lofthouse (King Billy); Ryan Stolworthy (Unattached); Tony Teal (Bluebird); Gary Clarke (Indian Inn); Paul Palmer (Kings Arms); Kyle Burden (Fawn); Mark Shears (Victory Inn); Dave Wyatt (Octagon); Billy Evans (Unattached).

Fawn: Lee Roberts (Bluebird); Stephan Jones (King Billy); John Mann (King Billy); Alan Masters (Bluebird); Ewan Johnson (Raffles); Sam Moyse (London Inn); Lee Hellings (Octagon); Phil Stewart (Unattached); Marc Webber (Cherry Tree); Danny Allen (Victory Inn); David Young (Steam Packet Inn); Andrew Walters (Torpoint Cons); Lee Dennis (Hyde Park); Daniel Belsten (The Buller Arms); Dylan Webb (King Billy); Kevin Dunstan (Victory Inn).

Hyde Park Social Club: Alan Brady (Fawn); Tony Gordon (Kings Arms); Jason Pinkerton (Unattached); Kevin Evans (St Johnston); Warren Page (Kings Arms); Lewis Dare (Victory Inn); Neil White (Octagon); Steve Ebsworth (Victory Inn); Mike Connell (Steam Packet Inn); Jaden Whitting (Fawn); Frankie Stout (Firkin Scholar) Quinton Taylor (Victory Inn); Lee Agar (Octagon); Wayne Oddie (Bluebird); Mark Gilbery (Victory Inn); Mike O'Brien (Fawn).

King Billy: Andrew Cook (Victory Inn); Russ Paxton-Denny (Hyde Park); Kev Bridgeman (Indian Inn); Lee Hunter (Hyde Park); Mike Nancholas (Fawn); Fred Goldsmith (Fawn); Dan Johnson (Queen's Dock); James Duke (Hyde Park); Matt Anderson (Fawn); Paul Gavican (Victory Inn); Bayleigh Webb (King Billy); Darren Collis (Victory Inn); Andy Bates (Victory Inn); Simon Wilbraham (The Lugger); Paul Hoare (Unattached); Kieran Burns (St Johnston).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts