Lancaster bombs out fancied Hellings in Champs comp

COMPETITORS take to the oche again this Sunday for the next stage of Champion of Champions 2018, with venues at Porters and Dartsworld.

No fewer than six former winners remain in the mix for this year’s title which includes reigning champion Simon Stevenson who will be bidding for an unprecedented sixth title.

He looked in fine fettle when achieving a 3-0 victory against Tony Lamerton, which included a winning leg in 15 darts and will now meet Paul Barclay at Porters.

Four of the previous champions competed at The Office last time out with 2015 winner John Mann's result being the most emphatic when he came through 3-0 against Porters team mate Scott Wapshott.

The 2011 champ Antony Hayman also booked his place amongst the last 32 with a 3-1 success over Scott Lawrey and will now face Fortescue thrower, Daniel Sheikh, for a coveted last 16 spot. Maritime Social Club's Dan Johnson and Phil Stewart (Porters), both sneaked through with victories in last leg deciders.

A three-time back to back finalist, Johnson will do battle with Dartsworld's Martin Dean while Stewart, who will be looking to add to his 2016 triumph, will need to be on his game when he faces Maritime Social Club's Devon player, Paul Palmer. The 1996 Champion of Champions Ralph Lancaster (pictured above) rolled back the years and producing a vintage display to dispose of one of the pre-tournament favourites, Lee Hellings, by the odd leg in five.

Highlights included a maximum score of 180, as well as finishing a leg in 16 darts and Lancaster now has Pete James standing in his way of further progress. Lancaster's maximum was one of five on the night with Danny Allen, Danny Bull, Harry Bull and Glenn Halford also achieving the feat in their first round victories. Elsewhere, Dickie Derbidge recorded the highest finish of 107 on his way to winning by the odd leg in five against The Fawn's Dan Bunney and the Union Inn marksman will now face Dave Wyatt as he looks for a first appearance in the last 16. Plympton Cons Paul Bowen showed his prowess by top scoring with eleven ton plusses before going on to a win by the odd leg in five against Mark Hatherley and will now look to continue his good form when facing Ian Heggie. All matches are to be played at the venue in which they’ve been scheduled on the date and time set within the rules, with all games consisting of best of five legs of 501 and the bust rule applying throughout.

PORTERS: Kelvin Rowe (Victory Inn) v Tony Tasker (Victory Inn), Andy Nation (The Office) v Shaun Dring (Maritime SC), Simon Stevenson (Dartsworld) v Paul Barclay (Octagon SC), Martin Dean (Dartsworld) v Dan Johnson (Maritime SC), Neal Hotchkiss (Steam Packet) v Glenn Halford (Bluebird), Pete James (Brewery Tap) v Ralph Lancaster (Octagon SC), Ian Heggie (Ker St SC) v Paul Bowen (Plympton Cons), Dave Wyatt (Octagon SC) v Dickie Derbidge (Union Inn).

DARTSWORLD: Lewis Dare (Brewery Tap) v Lee Roberts (Bluebird), Harry Bull (Maritime SC) v Dave Pethick (Octagon SC), Daniel Sheikh (Fortescue) v Antony Hayman (Brewery Tap), Phil Stewart (Porters) v Paul Palmer (Maritime SC), Andy Waters (The Tradesman) v Malcolm Johns (Porters), Alfie Ford (Octagon SC) v Neil White (Maritime SC), Danny Bull (Indian Inn) v Danny Allen (Maritime SC), John Mann (Porters) v John Carr (Brewery Tap).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts