Poison Ivy win promotion to top flight of super league

POISON Ivy will be playing in the premier division of the Devon Super League next season after winning the division one title by nine points, having gone through the season with just one defeat.

The team that play out of the Westward Inn at Lee Mill went into their final match of the campaign with all guns blazing and defeated Galaxy (Torquay) 9-0.

Tex Pearce (23.60) achieved the opening point after having to go the full seven legs but two 4-0 victories on the bounce from Dave Matthews (24.74) and Quinton Taylor (19.84) pushed the scoreline along to 3-0.

CHAMPIONS: The victorious Poison Ivy team from the Westward Inn, Lee Mill, who gained promotion to the premier division of the Devon County Super League after an excellent division one campaign.

Peter Holland (22.79) and Lee Agar (21.07) both won 4-2, either side of a 4-1 success from Fred Goldsmith (23.44).

A man-of-the-match performance followed from Mike Pearce (27.45) when he emerged a 4-0 winner in 19, 15, 19, 20, winning the 15-darter when checking out at the first time of asking from 130.

Neil White (23.97) won 4-2, aided by two 17-dart legs and a checkout of 100, before maximum points were gained when Kenny McCollom (22.75) won the ninth set 4-3.

Poison Ivy will be swapping places with Porters who lost 6-3 away at Royal Anglers and are destined to be relegated.

Antony Hayman (26.51) emerged a 4-1 winner in 15, 21, 17, 19 and there were also victories from Steve Brocklesby (18.22) and Paul Tackle (21.18).

Ker St Social Club were also defeated 6-3 when they hosted The Racehorse (Tiverton) and despite Maritime winning 6-3 against Winchester Warriors (Exeter), last season’s champions have to settle for runners-up this time around.

The Bluebird will be promoted to division one next season after claiming the runners-up spot behind division two champions Whipton Wasps (Exeter).

They won their final match 8-1 against a depleted Ray’s Beys side that could only field six players.

Rich Coombes (23.86) and Steve Barnes (20.24) both won with out loss while there were 4-1 victories for Alan Masters (23.43), Stew Roberts (22.39) and Keith Whitley (15.74).

The St Levan Inn won the ladies’ title by eight points but had to come from behind to claim a final game victory against Country House Muff Girls (Exmouth).

Anna Johnson (15.99) won 3-0, aided by a leg in 17 and Hayley Brant (18.33) also won without loss but when trailing 3-2, Chrissie Kinnaird (18.11) made it 3-3 with a 3-0 victory before a lady-of-the-match performance from Cat Callard (19.03).

She also won in three straight legs and clinched the match winning game when checking out from 111.

Maritime Ladies won their final match of the campaign 7-0 against Loco Ladies (Exeter) to finish in a very respectable fourth place.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts