Patriots begin defence of their title with solid victory

PORTERS Patriots began the defence of their Porters Function Room 501 Top 20 League title with a 10-1 success away at Victory B, one of three teams to win their first matches of the campaign in double figures.

Patriots put 65 throws of a ton or more on the scoreboard in a fixture that saw seven maximums recorded, three from Antony Hayman and a brace for Victory’s Kieran Harris.

Harris put in a good showing before being edged out 3-2 by Andy Bates (100x14) and also took out a checkout of 124.

Harris’s team-mate Graham Farrow earned Victory’s only point when he won his singles 3-2, aided by the week’s top finish of 132.

Maritime Misfits restricted their stablemates Maritime Nutters to just a single point, aided by an eye-catching win in 19, 22 and 19 from Frankie Stout, while also winning in double figures were Victory Inn A.

They earned their success away at Porters Pretenders, but the hosts provided the highlight in the opening game of the fixture when Dan Brazier, Steve Bishop and James Stoodley won their 801 trebles game in 22 darts for a very impressive 36.41 average.

Keelan Kay (100x11) and Neil White (100x12) emerged 2-1 winners in the doubles with their best leg of 601 being won in 20.

Maritime Governors won 9-2 against stablemates Musketeers and had Lee Hellings (pictured) earning the plaudits when in a 3-0 singles success his best legs were achieved in 15 and 14.

Lee Rodmell (100x13) and Paul Barclay (100x11) caught the eye in Torpoint Cons Club’s 9-2 defeat of The Clifton, the same winning scoreline that was also achieved by The Office when hosting Fawn A.

Cherry Tree edged out Indian Inn 6-5 when Marc Webber won the decisive point with a 3-0 defeat of Dan Brookshaw while Kings Arms opened their account with a 7-4 win against Octagon Social Club with Warren Gordon (100x14) and Tony Teal (100x14) consistent throughout.

Fawn B overcame Falstaff 9-2 and had Dave Jones hitting two 16-darters in a 3-0 singles success.

Notable outshots were achieved by: Dave Algar (110), Shaun Clarke (106), Antony Hayman (104), Paul Tackle (102), Dan Sheikh (101), Lee Hellings (100).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts