Five venues to host Champions tourney this Sunday

NEARLY 100 entries were received for Champion of Champions 2019 and 68 of the players will toe the oche in the preliminary round this coming Sunday, at five venues.

Reigning champion Neil White has a bye, but the draw has still thrown up some high-profile matches.

The 2015 Champion, John Mann, has been paired against Jason Pinkerton and Cornwall County stalwart Kevin Dunstan, will have to be on his game when he faces the challenge of the 2016 champion Phil Stewart (pictured).

Dan Johnson, another former title holder, will have to see off Glenn Halford if he wishes to advance in the competition, but Halford is one of the pre-tournament favourites after claiming the Players Championship title of the Plymouth City Super League only last month.

All ties will be the best of five legs of 501, flying start, and the bust rule will apply throughout the competition.

The first match in all venues will commence at 8.00pm.

The winners from this round will go into the bag with the 30 players who have byes and the last 64 stage will be contested on Sunday, October 6.

THE FAWN: Kevin Dunstan (Britannia Inn) v Phil Sterwart (Porters), Paul Flower (The Office) v Rob May (Maritime SC), Sean Pickersgill (Unattached) v Ralph Lancaster (Octagan SC), Gary Clarke (Porters), Danny Bull (Indian Inn), James Duke (Hyde Park) v Glenn Austin (The Bluebird), Steve Duke (Hyde Park SC) v Daniel Sheikh (Maritime SC), Paul Gavican (Brewery Tap) v Danny Allen (Maritime SC).

HYDE PARK SC: Martyn Down (Kings Arms) v Scott Wapshott (Brewery Tap), Dan Johnson (Maritime SC) v Glenn Halford (Bluebird), Jodie Hawton (Maritime SC) v Harry Bull (Indian Inn), Andy Pengelly (The Clifton) v Paddy Archibald (Torpoint Cons), Colin Dan (The Fawn) v Adam Fell (Weston Mill OV), Warren Page (Kings Arms) v Scott Hutchinson (Maritime SC), Neal Hotchkiss (Steam Packet) v Anthony Pearn (The Office).

CHERRY TREE: Adam Searle (Plympton Cons) v Phil Hoskin (Victory Inn), Paul Barclay (Torpoint Cons) v Liam Campbell (Indian Inn), Alec Turner (Porters) v Steve Brocklesby (Plympton Cons), Tony Teal (Plympton Cons) v Frankie Stout (Maritime SC), Andrew Waters (Torpoint Cons) v Simon Wilbraham (The Lugger), Jason Goldsmith (Victory Inn) v Darren Collis (Victory Inn), Andrew Nation (The Office) v Ian Heggie (Ker St SC).

KER ST SOCIAL CLUB: Tony Lamerton (Octagon SC) v Mark Henley (The Bluebird), John Mann (Brewery Tap) v Jason Pinkerton (Maritime SC), Alan Masters (Victory Inn) v Tony Reid (Cherry Tree), Dave Wyatt (Octagon SC) v Rob Thorning (Cherry Tree), Kevin Evans (Weston Mill OV) v David Reed (Union Inn), Paul Wills (Hyde Park SC) v Simon White (Torpoint Cons), Logan Carroll (Weston Mill OV) v Jordan Searle (Maritime SC).

INDIAN INN: Mark Hopkins (Firkin Scholar) v Quinton Taylor (Victory Inn), Steve Hopley (Indian Inn) v Kerry Jenkins (Fortescue), Marc Webber (Cherry Tree) v Lee Doncaster (Plympton Cons), Jason Dickson (Victory Inn) v Paul Goundry (Ker St SC), Steve Barnes (Victoria Inn) v James Ewing (Victory Inn), Shaun Northcott (Indian Inn) v Lee Roberts (The Bluebird).

BYES: James Cook (Fawn), Lee Lagor (The Tradesman), Neil White (Octagon SC), Paul Freeman (Indian Inn), Mark Shears (The Windmill), Reg Matthews (Kings Arms), Paul Palmer (Kings Arms), Lee Agar (Octagon SC), Kelvin Rowe (Victory Inn), Lee Hunter (Hyde Park SC), Dave Pethick (Octagon SC), Steve Rice (The Bluebird), Kevin Lofthouse (Porters), Brian Lumsdon (Tamar View), Graham Litchfield (The Clifton), Scott Lawrey (Victory Inn), Damian Chalmers (St Levans), Andy Hawes (Hyde Park SC), Dickie Derbidge (The Fawn), Malcolm Johns (Brewery Tap), Mike Nancholas (The Fawn), Lewis Dare (Victory Inn), Luke Johnson (Steam Packet), Sam Moyse (London Inn), Kayleigh Adams (Cherry Tree), Dave Moody (Pennycross SC), Russ Paxton-Denny (Hyde Park SC), Simon Washington (Dartsworld), Tony Clarke (Weston Mill OV), Antony Hayman (Brewery Tap).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts