Patriots continue their rich vein of form into New Year

PATRIOTS have begun 2020 in the rich vein of form they showed at the end of last year and made it 20 wins on the bounce in the Porters Function Room 501 Top 20 League when they took maximum points away at Maritime Nutters.

They put 57 ton-plus throws on the scoreboard which included five maximums, two from Antony Hayman which were his 20th and 21st of the campaign.

Malcolm Johns (25.47) won 3-0 in 20, 20 and 19 and John Mann (28.90) was successful in 20, 16 and 16 while Andy Bates (pictured) threw the week’s top checkout of 160.

Octagon were another side to take all 11 points when they hosted The Clifton while Maritime Musketeers won 8-3 against The Falstaff and had Kenny McCollum (100x11) as their leading marksman.

A competitive fixture at the Kings Arms saw Victory Inn A prevail by the odd game of 11, Darren Collis earning the Honicknowle side their win in the last singles of the match.

Kings had Tony Gordon (25.05) emerging a winner in 21, 20 and 18 while Warren Gordon was also a 3-0 winner with his best leg being claimed in 14 darts.

There was another close encounter at Porters Pretenders and with the scoreline evenly poised at 5-5, Scott Hutchinson (28.36) won the sixth point for Maritime Governors with a 3-0 win in 16, 18 and 19.

Also catching the eye were Harry Bull and Lisa Aston who clinched their doubles in two straight legs with their best effort coming in 16.

Fawn B overcame Cherry Tree 9-2 and that was also the same winning scoreline that they secured in a re-arranged fixture against The Clifton.

Torpoint Cons won 9-2 away at Victory B while Brewery Tap defeated Fawn A 7-4.

Kieran Burns (26.37) won 3-0 in 14, 20 and 23 and top scorer Glyn Wells notched no fewer than 19 ton plus scores which included outshots of 124 and 101.

King Billy defeated Maritime Misfits 7-4, the highlight being a 2-0 601 doubles success for Simon Washington and Kevin Seal with both legs being claimed in 20 darts (30.05).

Notable outshots were achieved by: Andy Coventry (142), Andrew Waters (126), Mark Shears (120), Fred Goldsmith (117), Steve Ebsworth (103).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts