Monday Premier Doubles Champs Confirmed

King Billy pair Antony Hayman and Andrew Cook were crowned as doubles champions in the Monday Premier League annual end of season competition played at the Bluebird.

The highlight of the preliminary round came in the form of 136 finishes from Bluebird A's Alan Masters and Octagon B's Lee Wyatt in their team's victories.

Wyatt's partner Simon Washington then produced a 106 checkout in the last 16 phase to put them into the quarter finals.

The Octagon B's run involvement ended at the hands of Cook and Hayman by a 2-0 scoreline whilst Luke Johnson checked 121 to help him and Andy Bates into the semi finals for league champions, Tradesmans.

That Johnson effort contributed to a 2-0 success over Bluebird A's Glenn Austin and Callum Strickson who did well to reach the latter stages.

Both semi finals were close affairs with the difference between the Tradesmans' duo and Darren Collis and Quinton Taylor who represented Victory A coming from Bates' fine 116 finish.

Collis and Taylor had earlier ended the hopes of teammates Tony Conn and Ryan Harris in the quarter final by a 2-0 score.

In the other semi, after dispatching Union Inn's Steve Towl and Nick Furneaux 2-1 in the quarters, Danny and Harry Bull who represented Indian Inn A did put together a 17 dart leg.

However, the father/son combination were defeated as Hayman hit the only maximum scored on the night, which proved crucial in the King Billy's 2-1 win.

Tradesmans' partnership of Bates and Johnson did manage a 17 dart leg of their own in the final but were ultimately overpowered by the formidable King Billy team who were crowned champions after a 2-1 victory.

That triumph gave the pair the lion's share of the £250 prize fund and the prestigious title of Monday Premier League doubles champions.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts