Devon Open ladies' darts title for Tavistock's Anna

DARTS players came from far and wide at the weekend to play in the Devon Open which took place at the Cavendish Hotel, Torquay, a tournament which boasted a total prizefund of £5,000.

The ladies’ event was won by Tavistock’s Anna Johnson (pictured below) who opened up with two 3-1 victories over Ann Peppin and Jo Moore before she defeated Lea Hadleigh and Cathy Campbell, both in three straight legs, to take her place in the final.

Her opponent was former England international Sue Gulliver, a player who had also won the Devon title back in 2011, but that form counted for nothing as Anna claimed victory by a 3-1 margin.

Anna checked out at the first time of asking from 90, on the bull, to edge 2-1 in front in the third leg when Sue was sitting on a double, and then outscored her opponent in the fourth, wiring a 120 out, before checking double 10 to win it.

Cornwall’s Claire Irons had won the ladies’ money in, money out comp on the opening night and had a good run with partner Leonor Hadleigh the following day before going down 3-1 in the semi-final of the ladies’ pairs to Michelle Andrews and Maz Bisset.

Hayley Brant and Anna Johnson put up a good performance in the other half of the draw but were defeated by the odd leg in five by Becky Taylor and Kay Bisset who went on to take the title 3-2.

Plymouth duo John Mann and Chrissie Kinnaird emerged as the mixed doubles winners when they defeated Mike and Mandy Pearce and Mann showed good form once again to partner Simon Stevenson to the Men’s pairs final where they triumphed over Mark Vellacott and Terry McDermott.

The line-up for the Men’s singles boasted some top players namely Mann, the first Plymouth player ever to hit the perfect game in competition, Simon Stevenson, a winner from two years ago, the current Plymouth Open 2018 champion and PDC marksman Justin Pipe and Brazilian Diogo Portela.

But surprisingly, Mann, had his hopes dented of a Men’s individual title as early as the last 32 when defeated by Neal Rakes.

Pipe won the early honours on board one with Plymouth’s Dave Matthews and Portela winning boards two and three respectively with Stevenson also making it into the semi-finals.

The matches went to form and it was no surprise to see Pipe and Stevenson contesting the best of seven final where the Plymouth marksman defeated his Taunton rival 4-3.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts