Race for Champions 2017 title hots up

COMPETITORS still competing in the Champion of Champions tournament are just one win away from an appearance in the grand final.

There are now just 16 players left in the main competition, which includes reigning champion Phil Stewart and Simon Stevenson, who is looking for a record-equalling fifth title.

The draw though will not include the 2015 winner John Mann, after he was sensationally put out of the competition when defeated 3-1 by Dan Scott.

STORMIN' NORMAN: Julie Norman remains on track to lift the ladies' title after defeating last year's semi-finalist in the previous round.

Danny Bull progressed with a 3-2 victory over John Donald, aided by a leg in 13 and Mark Shears will also be among the favourites after a 3-0 victory over Adam Searle, the highlight of which was a checkout of 130.

The ladies’ competition is down to the last eight and includes Julie Norman who defeated last year’s semi-finalist Steph Barham 3-1.

The last 16 players and the eight ladies will compete this Sunday at the Maritime Social Club with the winners going through to the grand final which will be contested on Sunday December 10 at the Hyde Park Social Club.

Players are required to be at the Maritime by 7.15pm when the draw will be made and play will commence at 7.30pm. All ties will be the best of five legs of 501, bull up in the first and fifth legs and the no bust rule applies throughout.

Last 16: Danny Bull, Lee Rodmell, Lewis Dare, Phil Stewart, Simon Stevenson, Mark Shears, Kieran Burns, Glenn Halford, Dave Pethick, Dan Scott, Steve Hiscox, Andy Bond, Lee Doncaster, Billy Evans, Tony Teal, Danny Allen.

Ladies’ Last 8: Helen Harvey, Kayleigh Adams, Julie Norman, Carmella Sharpe, Tanya Edwards, Cathy Lofthouse, Jodie Hawton, Kim White.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts