Title contenders start New Year with identical wins

THE top of the table looks the same as it did following the last match of 2017 after the two title contenders of the Monday Premier League, both started the New Year with 9-2 victories.

Maritime A, league leaders by five points, won away at Steam Packet A and had Scott Hutchinson hitting three maximums, two of which came in a 3-0 singles success.

The hosts had some consolation when Antony Pearn threw the week’s highest checkout with a kill of 152.

Second placed Porters A won on their visit to Firkin Scholar and they had Kev Lofthouse recording a 15-dart leg before going on to a 3-1 victory.

The only individual winner for the hosts was Mark Hatherley and he won the plaudits with an excellent 3-1 victory over Lewis Dare, aided by six throws of 140.

PLAUDITS: Despite ending up on the losing side, Firkin Scholar's Mark Hatherley earned the plaudits with a 3-1 victory over Lewis Dare, aided by six throws of 140.

The one leg that Dare claimed was won in 14 while Jon Matlock notched two maximums in a 3-0 win and fellow team-mate Kev Lofthouse won his singles 3-2, aided by a leg in 15.

Porters B, despite leading Indian B 4-0, had to settle for a 6-5 victory with Andy Bates again at the fore with a 3-0 victory, his best leg being won in 14.

Third placed Indian Inn A suffered a surprise defeat when they lost 7-4 at home to Steam Packet B, for whom Mark Williams (100x13) and Quinton Taylor (100x13) top scored.

On the plus side for the hosts, Danny Bull emerged a 3-1 winner with his best legs being won in 14 and 17 while Mike Whatley claimed a 15-darter in a 3-0 success.

Maritime B defeated Bluebird 7-4, the same winning scoreline that was also achieved by Octagon when hosting City Social.

In the best encounter of the fixture, Alfie Ford defeated Social’s Phil Hoskin 3-1, with both players taking legs in 15.

Shakespeare secured all but one of the 11 points that were on offer when they hosted Ford Hotel while another convincing victory was achieved by Brookside A who defeated Prince Maurice B 9-2.

Prince Maurice A had to come from behind to claim a victory against Brookside B.

Trailing 5-4, Steve Brocklesby and Glen Halford (100x12) both obliged when they won 3-1 and 3-0 respectively.

Notable outshots from across the boards were delivered by: Jim Orchard (119), Michelle Davis (116), Mark Hatherley (112), Ryan Ring (106), Nick Perring (101).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts